Marco Reus, Simon Rolfes & Mesut Ozil recalled to Germany squad

May 12, 2011 | In: Articles

Germany coach Joachim Low has announced his 23-man squad for die Mannschaft’s upcoming friendly with Uruguay and Euro 2012 qualifiers with Austria and Azerbaijan.

The squad features several changes to that which was assembled to face Kazakhstan and Australia in March. Leverkusen midfielder Simon Rolfes has been recalled to the DFB squad after a hiatus of nearly two years, and in-form Monchengladbach star Marco Reus earns his second call-up. Real Madrid’s Mesut Ozil was also included in the team after being rested in March.

“Marco has been an interesting development and shown good prospects,” said Low, according to the DFB website. “In recent weeks he has played very well in the Bundesliga and has been extremely dangerous in front of goal. Marco deserves a new invitation.”

Low also singled out the 29-year-old Rolfes for praise. The 21-times capped international has suffered from a plague of injuries over the last two years, but has made great strides of late.

“After a long injury break, now is the right time for Simon to return and to give him a chance. We never wrote him off. He has worked hard and has often been in good form.”

Low opted to drop Per Mertesacker and not to recall Heiko Westermann to his squad. Jerome Boateng, who is currently injured, will also not be recalled even though he is expected to be match fit by the end of this month.

“We have decided together that it is not the time, he should have time to cure his injuries and recover for the new season,” Low said of Boateng.

Finally, Michael Ballack was excluded from the team. The veteran has not played for Germany for more than a year, and is expected to make his 99th – and perhaps final – cap against Brazil in August.

Germany face Uruguay on May 29 in Sinsheim before heading abroad for Euro qualifiers against Austria (June 3 in Vienna) and Azerbaijan (June 7 in Baku).

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Rene Adler, Manuel Neuer, Tim Wiese

Defenders: Dennis Aogo, Holger Badstuber, Arne Friedrich, Mats Hummels, Philipp Lahm, Marcel Schmelzer, Christian Trasch

Midfielders: Sven Bender, Mario Gotze, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Thomas Muller, Mesut Ozil, Lukas Podolski, Marco Reus, Simon Rolfes, Andre Schuerrle, Bastian Schweinsteiger

Forwards: Mario Gomez, Miroslav Klose

Comments are closed.


Follow us

twitter facebook google plus youtube

18+ Gamble reponsible

You must be 18 years old or over to use this site. Please bet responsibly.