Gareth Bale a candidate for Player of the Year as PFA announce awards nominations

April 10, 2011 | In: Articles

Gareth Bale leads the nominations for this season’s PFA awards, with the Welshman put forward for both Player and Young Player of the Year.

The Spurs winger has been in fine form this season, scoring seven goals in 24 games for the north London club, and is joined by Arsenal midfielder Samir Nasri, who has also been nominated for both awards.

Manchester City’s Carlos Tevez is the only striker to be nominated for Player of the Year, having scored 19 goals so far this season, and is joined by Tottenham’s Rafael van der Vaart, Blackpool’s Charlie Adam and West Ham midfielder Scott Parker.

Nemanja Vidic is the only Manchester United player to be nominated for the award, with last year’s double winner Wayne Rooney not featured amongst the candidates after a mixed campaign so far this season.

Portuguese winger Nani joins fellow Old Trafford team-mate Javier Hernandez with a nomination for Young Player of the year, whilst England duo Joe Hart and Jack Wilshere are also on the shortlist.

Everton full-back Seamus Coleman, who has enjoyed a fine season for the Merseyside club, rounds off the nominations, with the winner set to be announced on April 17.

PFA Players’ Player of the Year nominees: Gareth Bale, Charlie Adam, Samir Nasri, Scott Parker, Carlos Tevez, Rafael van der Vaart, Nemanja Vidic.

PFA Young Player of the Year nominees: Gareth Bale, Seamus Coleman, Joe Hart, Javier Hernandez, Nani, Samir Nasri, Jack Wilshere.

Comments are closed.


Follow us

twitter facebook google plus youtube

18+ Gamble reponsible

You must be 18 years old or over to use this site. Please bet responsibly.